Donate Newsletter

Experts’ Reference Group

The Experts' Reference Group provides Holocaust Memorial Day Trust (HMDT) with expert advice on historical and contemporary questions related to the Holocaust, subsequent genocides, the nature of genocide, historical memory and commemoration.

Established in 2015, the group provides support and advice to HMDT on a wide range of topics and the membership reflects this. The group is comprised of academics from a range of relevant fields, educators, journalists, those working in the faith and inter-faith sector, and in the cultural sector.

Previously, the Experts’ Reference Group has held seminars on antisemitism (anti-Jewish hatred) and the definition of genocide. For the past two years, group members have addressed HMDT’s Annual General Meeting, exploring issues including Holocaust denial and fake news, engaging faith groups with Holocaust Memorial Day, and the impact of Coronavirus on human behaviour. Most recently our trustees benefitted from hearing group members at a Trustee Away Day with presentations on genocide comparison and the current situation in Myanmar.

Members of the Experts’ Reference Group include:

Cathy Ashley, Chief Executive of Family Rights Group and former chair of HMDT

Dr Jane Clements MBE, former Director of CCJ (Council for Christians and Jews), founder and co-chair of FODIP (Forum for Discussion of Israel and Palestine)

Julian Glicher, a Chartered Accountant, a trustee of Holocaust Learning UK and former HMDT treasurer

Dilwar Hussain, Assistant Professor at the Centre for Trust, Peace and Social Relations, University of Coventry, Fellow at ISD, independent consultant working on social policy, Muslim identity and Islamic reform in the modern world, and former HMDT vice-chair

Dame Helen Hyde DBE, was made a Dame for her services to education and Holocaust education

Professor Tony Kushner, Professor in the Parkes Institute for the Study of Jewish/non-Jewish Relations and History Department at the University of Southhampton

Diane Lees CBE, Director-General of the Imperial War Museum

Dr Kishan Manocha, Head of the Tolerance and Non-Discrimination Department, Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights

Dr Joe Mulhall, Senior Researcher, Hope not Hate, and HMDT trustee

Dr Zoe Norridge, Senior Lecturer at Kings’ College London and chair of the Ishami Foundation

Professor Philippe Sands QC, Professor of the Public Understanding of Law and Director of the Centre on International Courts and Tribunals at University College London, and a barrister at Matrix Chambers

Professor Dan Stone, Professor of Modern History and Director of the Holocaust Research Institute at Royal Holloway, University of London

Dr Zoe Waxman, Departmental Lecturer in Modern Jewish History, Oriental Institute, University of Oxford

And others including journalists, representatives from the House of Lords, academics covering both Law and History, Communications specialists and experts from the field of Holocaust education and commemoration.